How 12-Team Playoff Would Have Looked Every Year of the CFP

Published by
Sports Illustrated

By Molly Geary The top four seeds would have not always been the same. After this year, there is only one more season with the College Football Playoff as we know it. Starting with the 2024 season, the Playoff will expand from a four-team field to a 12-team field. That will bring plenty of change to college football’s postseason and open up the national title race to a host of new programs. In the CFP era, which began in 2014, only 14 schools have made the nine editions of the Playoff. Alabama (seven appearances), Clemson (six) and Ohio State (five) have claimed half of the 36 slots that have …

Read More

See also  In sports-starved world, Tiger-Phil-Brady-Manning match feeds us

Leave a Reply